Ranbir Kapoor, Vidya Balan and Zindagi Na Milegi Dobara win top honors at IIFA

Added by harini on Jun 14, 2012

Bollywood actors Ranbir Kapoor and Vidya Balan continued their winning streak by grabbing the Best Actor and Best Actress Awards for the movies ‘Rockstar’ and ‘The Dirty Picture’ respectively at the recently held IIFA in Singapore.

Vidya Balan, who received her award from veteran actor Kamal Hassan, said that she was honored to receive the award from hands of her idol.

“To get the award from such an actor whom I have worshipped all my life is an honor. Seven years ago my first film ‘Parineeta’ premiered at IIFA Amsterdam and today I am winning the best actress award here,” she said.

Ranbir Kapoor was excited on winning the Best Actor award.

“I am grateful to have got the opportunity to work with masterminds like Imtiaz Ali, AR Rahman and my grand uncle Shammi Kapoor in this film,” he said.

The movie ‘Zindagi Na Milegi Dobara’, starring Hrithik Roshan, Farhan Akhtar, Abhay Deol, Katrina Kaif and Kalki Koechlin and directed by Zoya Akhtar, won the Best Movie award. Director Zoya Akhtar won Best Director award for the same, while Farhan Akhtar won Best Actor in Supporting Role.

Actress Parineeti Chopra was the only one to walked away with two awards on the night, as she won Best Actress in Supporting Role for Ladies Vs Ricky Bahl and Best Debut Female for the same movie.

Actor Vidyut Jamwal won Best Debut Male for the movie 'Force'. Southern actor Prakash Raj won Best Actor in Negative Role for his comic villain role in ‘Singham’.

Music maestro AR Rahman walked away with Best Music Director Award for ‘Rockstar’.

“I thank the crew of ‘Rockstar’, including Mohit Chauhan and Ranbir Kapoor, for their cooperation. Thanks to Javed Akhtar, we can all have our rights to our music now that the Copyright Act has been amended,” he said after receiving the award.

Mohit Chauhan won Best Male Playback Singer for ‘Naadan Parindey’ from ‘Rockstar’, while Shreya Ghosal won Best Female Playback Singer for ‘Teri Meri’ from ‘Bodyguard’.  Irshad Kamil, who penned ‘Naadan Parindey’, won Best Lyricist award.

Actress Rekha and filmmaker Ramesh Sippy were honored for their contributions towards Indian Cinema. Norwegian actress Liv Ullmann was honored for her outstanding contribution to international Cinema.

Full List Below-

Best Actor: Ranbir Kapoor for movie Rockstar
Best Actress:
Vidya Balan for movie The Dirty Picture
Best Film:
Zindagi Na Milegi Dobara
Best Director:
Zoya Akhtar for Zindagi Na Milegi Dobara
Male Debutant Star:
Vidyut Jamwal for Force
Female Debutant Star:
Parineeti Chopra for Ladies vs Ricky Bah
Best Performance In A Negative Role:
Prakash Raj for Singham
Best Performance In A Comic Role:
Riteish Deshmukh for Double Dhamaal
Best Story:
Zindagi Na Milegi Dobara for Reema Kagti
Best Actor In A Supporting Role:
Farhan Akhtar for Zindagi Na Milegi Dobara
Best Music
- AR Rahman (Rockstar)
Best Singer Male
- Mohit Chauhan (Nadaan Parinde - Rockstar)
Best Singer Female
- Shreya Ghosal (Teri Meri - Bodyguard)
IIFA Awards 2012 for Outstanding Achievement in Indian Cinema
- Ramesh Sippy
IIFA Awards 2012 for Outstanding Achievement in Indian Cinema
- Rekha

Leave Comments