Rajkummar Rao and 'Jolly LLB' win National Awards

Added by harini on Apr 17, 2014

The prestigious National Award winners were finally announced on Wednesday. Actor Rajkummar Rao and his movie Shahid and director Subhash Kapoor’s ‘Jolly LLB’ have come out as big victors on the night.

While Rajkummar Rao won the National Award for the Best Actor, Subhash Kapoor’s ‘Jolly LLB’ was honored with the Best Hindi film award and actor Saurabh Shukla has been named the best supporting actor for his role of a judge in the same movie.

Actor Rajkummar Rao is elated with his victory and said that "it's the most important day" of his life.

“It feels great! It is the most important day of my life. I was not expecting this at all, but when I got to know about it, my heartbeat slowed down," Rajkummar told IANS.

Director Subhash Kapoor said that two wins for his movie have pleasantly shocked him.

“Our film has got two National Awards and this is like sone pe suhaga. I was not expecting this," he said.

"It's a proud moment for me and my team, right now I can't express my feelings. I am also happy for our producers Fox Star. The film did well at the box office, but being rewarded with National awards is altogether a different feeling," he added.

Here is the full list of winners –

Best Feature Film: Ship Of Theseus (English-Hindi)
Best Popular Film Providing Wholesome Entertainment: Bhaag Milkha Bhaag (Hindi)
Best Children's Film: Kaphal (Hindi)
Best Direction: Hansal Mehta, Shahid (Hindi)
Best Film on Environment/Conservation: Perariyathavar (Malayalam)
Best Debut Film of a Director: Nagraaj Manjule for Fandry (Marathi)
Best Film on National Integration: Thalaimuraigal (Tamil)
Best Actor: Rajkummar Rao (Shahid) and Suraj Venjaramoodu (Perariyathavar)
Best Actress: Geetanjali Thapa (Liar's Dice)
Best Supporting Actor: Saurabh Shukla (Jolly LLB)
Best Supporting Actress: Aida Elkashif (Ship Of Theseus) and Amruta Subhash (Astu)
Best Child Artist: Somnath Avghade (Fandry) and Sadhana (Thanga Meengal)
Best Film on Social Issues: Tuhya Dharma Koncha (Marathi)
Best Hindi Film: Jolly LLB (Hindi)
Best Assamese Film: Ajeyo
Best Telugu Film: Naa Bangaru Talli
Best Tamil Film: Thanga Meengal
Best Malayalam Film: North 24 Kaadham
Best Kannada Film: December 1
Best Marathi Film: Aajcha Diwas Majha
Best Konkani Film: Baga Beach
Best English Film: The Coffin Maker
Best Khasi Film: RI
Best Sherdukpen Film: Crossing Borders
Special Mention: Yellow (Marathi) and Na Bangaaru Talli (Telugu)
Best Choreography: Bhaag Milkha Bhaag (Hindi)
Best Location Sound & Sound Design: Madras Café (Hindi)
Best Sound Re-recording: Swapaanam (Malayalam)
Best Special Effects: Jal (Hindi)
Best Music Direction (Songs): Jaatishwar (Bengali)
Best Background Score: Naa Bangaru Talli
Best Dialogue: Astu
Best Male Playback Singer: Rupankar for Jaatishwar
Best Female Playback Singer: Bela Shende for Tuhya Dharma Kocha
Best Cinematography: Liar's Dice
Best Original Screenplay: December 1 (Kannada)
Best Adapted Screenplay: Prakruti (Kannada)
Best Editing: Vallinam (Tamil)
Best Production Design: Miss Lovely (Hindi)
Best Costume Design: Jaatishwar
Best Make Up: Jaatishwar
Best Lyrics: Thanga Meengal (Tamil)
Special Jury Award: Yellow and Miss Lovely


Leave Comments